This slideshow requires JavaScript.


To implant godliness in human beings in an intimate way such that the faith becomes a pleasant heritage as we care for the sick, provide service to those in need, giving compassion and  promote justice in the society  and involvement in formal and informal education of the people.


The Spirit of the Congregation is based on the evangelical counsels of living an angelic life in Chastity, Obedient life alongside her patron, Saint Michael the Archangel, and single mindedness in Poverty like the angel. The Congregation shall, however, specialize in evangelization as her primary apostolate.



While evangelization is the apostolic spirit of the sisters of St. Michael the Archangel, Inculturation shall be their vehicle of operation.



The affairs of the congregation are directed by the Superior General, who is assisted by four council members. The Superior and the council members are elected at the end of every General Chapter, which takes place once in every five years.

Members of the Council are Rev. Sr Regina Oke (Superior General), Rev. Sr Beatrice Opaireke (Vicar-General), Rev. Sr Stella Aremu (Council Member and Bursar-General), Rev. Sr Veronica Babalola (Council Member) and Rev. Sr Maryanne Mowobi (Council Member).



The Congregation of the Sisters of St. Michael the Archangel was founded by Most Rev. Dr. Michael Olatunji Fagun, the then Catholic Bishop of Ekiti on the 6th of November 1986. The reasons for the foundation of the Sisters of St. Michael the Archangel are twofold: first, for the purpose of evangelization through enculturation since the best missionaries to evangelize a people are those with full knowledge and cultural background of the evangelized; second, for the purpose of bringing the faith into the fibre of the people’s existence so as to form the fabric of their life, with the faith well-woven into their culture, from where a new Christian culture would emerge.

The Congregation began with 10 indigenes as the foundation members with the responsibility of formation reposed on the congregation of the Eucharistic Heart of Jesus sisters because of cultural affiliation. This was successfully accomplished under the guidance and supervision of Rev. Mother Mary Clare Idahosa, who diligently provided personnel for formation. The postulate and Novitiates are both situated in Maria Assumpta Hospital premises in Catholic Diocese of Ekiti, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State, Nigeria.The Generalate is situated beside St. Fidelis Catholic Church, Ado Ekiti.

The first General Chapter of the congregation took place in 1995 at Saints Peter and Paul Major Seminary where the first Superior General, Rev. Sr. Catherine Ajoke Oluyemo was elected with others as counselors. Their tenure was five years. Within those five years, on the 22nd of February 1999 the Congregation was canonically erected at St. Patrick’s Cathedral Ado-Ekiti by the Father Founder, Most Rev. M.O. Fagun and the Metropolitan Archbishop of Ibadan province, Archbishop Felix Alaba Job after a canonical approval from the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life in Rome. This has been followed by other four very successful chapters.

Within twenty five years we have witnessed a tremendous growth in every aspect of our existence.

We have been blessed with a group of lay people who share our life and spirituality and who also support the mission, apostolate and the activity of the Congregation. They are called the Michaelian family.